Skip to Content

Several candidates file for Jefferson City elections on first day of filing

File photo of Jefferson City Hall.
File photo of Jefferson City Hall.


Candidate filing opened Monday for the April 4, 2023, municipal elections in Missouri and several people in Jefferson City have already filed to run for a seat at city hall.

Ward 4 Councilman Ron Fitzwater so far is the only candidate who has filed to run for mayor. His current term as councilman expires in 2024.

Mayor Carrie Tergin is unable to run because of term limits. She was elected in 2015 and served two consecutive terms. The mayor is elected for four years, with an eight-year consecutive term limit. A full four-year mayoral term must pass before they are eligible to serve as mayor again

The following incumbents whose terms are up in 2023 are seeking reelection:

  • Ward 4 Councilman Derrick Spicer
  • Ward 3 Councilman Scott Spencer
  • Ward 1 Councilman David Kemna
  • Municipal Judge Scott Evans
  • Prosecutor Gaylin Carver

Aaron Mealy filed to run for Ward 2 councilman. No one has filed yet for the Ward 5 council seat currently held by Councilman Mark Schreiber.

The City of Camdenton also reported a list of candidates who filed on Tuesday. The following incumbents are seeking reelection:

  • Mayor John McNabb
  • Ward 1 Alderman Eric Fae
  • Ward 3 Alderman Mark Anderson.

No one has filed yet for Ward 2 Alderman .

The last day for a candidate to file for this election is Dec. 27. The last day residents can register to vote in the April 4 election is March 8.

Article Topic Follows: Top Stories

Ryan Shiner


ABC 17 News is committed to providing a forum for civil and constructive conversation.

Please keep your comments respectful and relevant. You can review our Community Guidelines by clicking here

If you would like to share a story idea, please submit it here.

Skip to content