Skip to Content

Missouri Senate approves new congressional district map, breaking weeks-long impasse


Watch a replay of senators' comments on approval of new a congressional map.

The Missouri Senate has passed a new congressional map that will divide Boone County in two and put it into a different district.

The map approved Thursday on a 22-10 vote will move part of Boone County into the Third Congressional District, represented by U.S. Rep. Blaine Luetkemeyer (R-St. Elizabeth). The rest of the county will remain in the Fourth District, represented by U.S. Rep. Vicky Hartzler (R-Harrisonville), who is running in the Republican primary for U.S. Senate. Cooper and Moniteau would also move into the Third District.

Howard County would remain in the Fourth District. Audrain and Randolph counties move into northern Missouri's Sixth District.

Republican Taylor Burks, who has announced his intention to seek the Fourth District seat, will live in the Third District in southern Boone County under the new map. He said he will still seek the seat and will move if he must to do so.

The Senate also approved an emergency clause that will make the bill take effect immediately on passage and signing.

The Senate majority and minority and its conservative caucus plan to hold news conferences after the Senate adjourns.

Majority Republicans in the Missouri Senate have been at odds about how to redistrict Missouri's eight U.S. House of Representative seats.

Members of the Missouri House of Representatives approved a map in January. The map includes six Republican districts and two Democratic districts. The map passed Thursday also includes six Republican-leaning districts and two Democratic-leaning districts.

The Missouri Senate also debated the House's map and another proposal that features seven Republican districts and one Democratic district.

State lawmakers are required to redraw the congressional districts to reflect population growth or decrease reflected in each Census. U.S. House of Representative candidates in Missouri have until March 29, to file for the Aug. 2 primary election.

Article Topic Follows: Missouri Politics
Author Profile Photo

Zachary Farwell

Zachary Farwell is the assignment editor and former senior producer at ABC 17 News.

Author Profile Photo

Matthew Sanders

Matthew Sanders is the digital content director at ABC 17 News.


ABC 17 News is committed to providing a forum for civil and constructive conversation.

Please keep your comments respectful and relevant. You can review our Community Guidelines by clicking here

If you would like to share a story idea, please submit it here.

Skip to content