Skip to Content

MLB Clemente Award winners wear his 21 on caps for careers


NEW YORK (AP) — Winners of the Roberto Clemente Award will wear his No. 21 on the back of their caps for the rest of their major league careers. Major League Baseball said it was a “special tribute to his enduring legacy.” The announcement was timed for the 50th anniversary of the year in which the Pittsburgh Pirates Hall of Famer from Puerto Rico died in a plane crash while on a humanitarian relief effort. Active Clemente winners include Nelson Cruz, Albert Pujols, Yadier Molina, Carlos Carrasco, Clayton Kershaw, Andrew McCutchen, Anthony Rizzo and Adam Wainwright.

Article Topic Follows: AP Missouri

Jump to comments ↓



ABC 17 News is committed to providing a forum for civil and constructive conversation.

Please keep your comments respectful and relevant. You can review our Community Guidelines by clicking here

If you would like to share a story idea, please submit it here.

Skip to content