Skip to Content

Columbia voters to decide outcome of mayoral race, two city council seats in April election

A "vote here" sign sits outside the Boone County Government Center on Tuesday, April 6, 2021.


Voters in Columbia will decide the outcome of two city council races and the mayoral race in April.

On Tuesday, a spokeswoman for the city clerk's office shared the final list of candidates for the April 5 election. The candidates had until 5 p.m. on Tuesday to file their paperwork with Columbia.

Voters will have five candidates to pick from in the city's mayoral race. Mayor Brian Treece announced in September he wouldn't run for re-election.

Mayoral candidates:

  1. Randy Minchew
  2. David Seamon
  3. Barbara Buffaloe
  4. Tanya Heath
  5. Maria Oropallo

Voters in Columbia's third and fourth wards will also have to choose between two candidates for each area. Roy Lovelady will challenge incumbent city councilman Karl Skala for the third ward seat.

Councilman Ian Thomas vacated Columbia's fourth ward seat after he announced plans earlier this year not to seek re-election.

Third ward council candidates:

  1. Karl Skala
  2. Roy Lovelady

Fourth ward council candidates:

  1. Erica Pefferman
  2. Nick Foster

Voters have until March 9 to register to vote. The deadline for voters to request an absentee ballot is March 23.

Author Profile Photo

Zachary Farwell

Zachary Farwell is the senior producer at ABC 17 News.


1 Comment

  1. Is it not curious how many local elections are done in April, when fewer voters are paying attention. Even though those elections have more impact on their lives. I wonder why.

Leave a Reply

Skip to content