Skip to Content

Columbia school board votes to change attendance area boundaries

Many elementary students in Columbia will have to go to a new school next year, after the Board of Education voted to change attendance area boundaries.

The change is because of the new elementary school, Beulah Ralph Elementary, that is currently being built.

Newly elected Board President James Whitt said a change is boundaries is expected when a new school is built.

“We know not every move we make will please everyone and we’re sorry for that, but we have to change these boundaries to keep the students more evenly distributed,” he explained. “It’s a natural part of a growing district.”

The vote came after five controversial months of planning, where a committee ironed out the details and some parents fought it, not wanting to change schools.

The committee made one final change last month, which took a small portion out of the Russell Boulevard Area and added it to Fairview’s district. They also allowed families that moved to Grant Elementary last year to choose to keep their children at the school or move back to Russell Boulevard or Mill Creek.

Six schools are affected: Rock Bridge, Mill Creek, Russell Boulevard, Fairview, Mary Paxton Keeley, and Grant Elementaries.

The superintendent is able to make adjustments to the boundaries each year as needed.

Also on Monday night, two Columbia school board members took the oath of office.

Christine King and Darin Preis were both re-elected in Tuesday’s election.

The Board also elected James Whitt as the new President and Jonathon Sessions as the new Vice President.

Article Topic Follows: News

Jump to comments ↓

ABC 17 News Team


ABC 17 News is committed to providing a forum for civil and constructive conversation.

Please keep your comments respectful and relevant. You can review our Community Guidelines by clicking here

If you would like to share a story idea, please submit it here.

Skip to content