Skip to Content

Counties Declared Disaster Areas

Some Missouri farmers affected by the historic drought are now eligible for loans and assistance from the federal government.On Wednesday, the U.S. Department of Agriculture declared 63 counties in the state as a primary natural disaster area. That designation says 31 counties suffered either extreme or exceptional drought, or have suffered a severe drought for more than eight weeks. The other 32 counties have been designated as contiguous disaster counties.Gov. Jay Nixon said the declaration means farmers can get emergency loans and other assistance from the USDA’s Farm Service Agency.”Missouri livestock and crop farmers across the state have been struggling with drought for a long time now,” Gov. Nixon said in a statement. “There has been relief in some parts of the state because of rain and snow, but it’s still a great challenge. Coming on the heels of our drought relief program on the state level that has helped thousands of Missouri ranchers and farmers drill new wells, this designation can provide additional help for these hard-hit areas. We’ll continue to stand with Missouri agriculture at every step of the recovery.”The 31 primary counties included under the designation are Andrew, Atchison, Audrain, Bates, Caldwell, Callaway, Clinton, Cole, Cooper, Daviess, DeKalb, Dunklin, Gentry, Grundy, Harrison, Henry, Lafayette, Lincoln, Linn, Livingston, Moniteau, Monroe, Montgomery, Morgan, Nodaway, Pettis, Pike, Ralls, Ray, Warren and Worth.In addition, 32 counties have been named as contiguous disaster counties: Adair, Benton, Boone, Buchanan, Butler, Camden, Carroll, Cass, Chariton, Clay, Franklin, Gasconade, Holt, Howard, Jackson, Johnson, Macon, Marion, Mercer, Miller, New Madrid, Osage, Pemiscot, Platte, Randolph, St. Charles, St. Clair, Saline, Shelby, Stoddard, Sullivan and Vernon.

Article Topic Follows: News

Jump to comments ↓

ABC 17 News Team


ABC 17 News is committed to providing a forum for civil and constructive conversation.

Please keep your comments respectful and relevant. You can review our Community Guidelines by clicking here

If you would like to share a story idea, please submit it here.

Skip to content