Skip to Content

Daytime Emmys Fast Facts

CNN Editorial Research

Here’s a look at the Daytime Emmy Awards, which recognize television programs and performers.

June 24, 2022 – The 49th Annual Daytime Emmy Awards ceremony takes place.

June 25, 2021 – The 48th Annual Daytime Emmy Awards are presented virtually due to the coronavirus pandemic.


Daytime Emmys are presented by the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS).

Emmy Awards are named after “Immy,” an abbreviation for the image orthicon camera. It was later changed to “Emmy,” which seemed more feminine.

The first Daytime Emmy Awards ceremony was held in 1974. Prior to this, a small number of daytime awards were presented along with the Primetime Emmy Awards.

In 2021, NATAS and the Television Academy announce a realignment of the Daytime and Primetime Emmy Awards, organizing the competitions by content genre rather than airtime.

2022 Winners (selected)

Outstanding Daytime Drama Series:
“General Hospital”

Outstanding Game Show:

Outstanding Informative Talk Show
“Turning the Tables with Robin Roberts”

Outstanding Entertainment Talk Show
“The Kelly Clarkson Show”

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Daytime Drama Series:
Mishael Morgan, “The Young and the Restless”

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Daytime Drama Series:
John McCook, “The Bold and the Beautiful”

Full list of winners

™ & © 2022 Cable News Network, Inc., a WarnerMedia Company. All rights reserved.

Article Topic Follows: CNN - National

Jump to comments ↓

CNN Newsource


ABC 17 News is committed to providing a forum for civil and constructive conversation.

Please keep your comments respectful and relevant. You can review our Community Guidelines by clicking here

If you would like to share a story idea, please submit it here.

Skip to content