JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. (KMIZ)
The process to make recreational marijuana more accessible to Missourians will take a step forward this weekend.
Starting Saturday, the Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services will post applications for personal cultivation licenses. The license will allow approved applicants to grow their own marijuana.
The future use of recreational marijuana became a reality for Missouri when voters passed Amendment 3 in November's election. With 53% of votes in approval, Missouri became one of 21 states to legalize marijuana for recreational use.
The state health department will start to accept personal cultivation applications on February 6. However, with the freedom to grow, people will need to follow regulations set by the state.
Under state law, applicants must be at least 21 years old. The personal grow registration card would allow approved applicants to grow six flowering marijuana plants, six non-flowering marijuana plants (over 14 inches tall), and six clone plants (under 14 inches tall).
No more than twelve flowering marijuana plants are to be kept in or on the grounds of a private residence at one time, according to the state.
Applicants are required to keep marijuana grown from plants in excess of three ounces in a locked and non-visible location inside of a home. Also, the state prevents anyone approved for a personal cultivation registration card from selling marijuana.
If approved for the personal grow license, the card is valid for 12 months and requires a $100 fee. You can also read more about adult use on the state health department's website.