Skip to Content

Journalists honored by MU

Seven journalists and media organizations receive the University of Missouri Honor Medal for Distinguished Service in Journalism.

Faculty select the medalists on the basis of lifetime or superior achievement in journalism. The School of Journalism has awarded journalists, business people and media organizations every year since 1930.

One of this year’s medalist is veteran CBS News reporter and anchor Bill Plante. The award-winning journalist says the honor from Mizzou is humbling. Plante says, “”I am completely overwhelmed. I never expected anything like this. It seems to me that the other people who are being honored have done bigger things for journalism than I have. But, I’m very pleased to be getting it.”

This is the complete list of 2015 medalists:

Barbara Ehrenreich, author and activist Bill Plante, senior White House correspondent, CBS News CNN Digital, one of the world’s leading digital news brands Gerd Ludwig, photojournalist and documentary photographer Lincoln Stephens, co-founder, The Marcus Graham Project Merrill Perlman, copy editor Rea Hederman, publisher, The New York Review of Books Sports Journalism Institute, training-internship program Yoani Snchez, Cuban blogger, journalist and entrepreneur

Past recipients of MU’s Medal for Distinguished Service in Journalism include Tom Brokaw, Christiane Amanpour and Sir Winston Churchill.

Article Topic Follows: News

Jump to comments ↓

ABC 17 News Team


ABC 17 News is committed to providing a forum for civil and constructive conversation.

Please keep your comments respectful and relevant. You can review our Community Guidelines by clicking here

If you would like to share a story idea, please submit it here.

Skip to content